You are here: Home / Who We Are

Who We Are

North Atlantic LCC partners work together to identify common science needs, shared scientific capacity, and information and coordinate natural resource conservation actions across the region.
NALCC Steering Committee 2012
North Atlantic LCC steering committee taking a break during the November 2012 steering committee meeting.

Map of the LCCs in the Eastern U.S. and Canada


The North Atlantic LCC was formed late in the fall of 2009 as a conservation partnership, consisting of federal agencies, states, tribes, universities and private organizations working collaboratively to develop scientific information and tools needed to prioritize and guide conservation actions in the North Atlantic Region from southeast Virginia north to Atlantic Canada.

The North Atlantic LCC is part of a network of 22 Landscape Conservation Cooperatives, which was launched in 2009 by the U.S. Department of the Interior, primarily through the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and U.S. Geological Survey.

Since that time, individual LCCs have brought people and resources together, strengthening the collective impact of the conservation community and other organizations with a shared interest in the lasting protection of our natural world.

The North Atlantic LCC includes nearly 130 million acres, across 12 states, Washington, D.C., and Canada. We live among incredible, diverse ecosystems, from coastal salt marshes to boreal forests, connected by hundreds of miles of freshwater rivers and streams. Nearly 60 million people live here, some in rural areas where farming and forestry thrive, others in small towns where working landscapes are interspersed with manufacturing and research, while many more reside in large cities, home to centers of industry.

Learn More About The Cooperative

Document Actions