You are here: Home / Who We Are / Steering Committee

Steering Committee

The North Atlantic LCC Steering Committee takes a break during their November 2012 meeting in New Paltz, NY. Credit: USFWS

The North Atlantic LCC Steering Committee has 32 formal members, including 14 agencies from northeast states and the District of Columbia, tribal representatives, 10 federal agencies, Canadian partners, and 8 non-governmental organizations. The steering committee approved a governance document to guide the organization and function of the partnership.

The steering committee agreed to meet in person at least twice a year in conjunction with the Northeast Fish and Wildlife Conference each April and the Northeast Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (NEAFWA) Directors meeting each November. During the year, at least two steering committee conference calls will be scheduled in addition to in-person meetings.

The steering committee elected a chair and vice-chair in 2011. The current chair is Ken Elowe, Assistant Regional Director for Science Applications in the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s Northeast Region; current Vice Chair is Patricia Riexinger, Director of the Division of Fish, Wildlife and Marine Resources in the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation.

The North Atlantic LCC Technical Committee includes a broad partnership of about 50 scientists representing a diversity of taxonomic, ecosystem and jurisdictional perspectives. A number of standing and ad-hoc sub-teams have also been formed, including terrestrial/wetland, aquatic, coastal/marine, and demonstration projects. The technical committee provides science and technical recommendations to the steering committee during an annual science needs assessment process. Learn more about the technical subcommittees.


Steering Committee Meetings

Communications Toolkit






Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection Bill Hyatt Chief, Bureau of Natural Resources
Delaware Division of Fish and Wildlife David Saveikis Director
District of Columbia Department of the Environment Keith Anderson* Chief of Staff, District Department of the Environment
Bryan King Associate Director, Fisheries and Wildlife Division
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Jim  Connolly Director of Resource Management
Maryland Department of Natural Resources Gwen Brewer Science Program Manager
Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife John O’Leary Wildlife Administrator
New Hampshire Fish and Game Department Glenn Normandeau Director
Mark Ellingwood* Chief of Wildlife
New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife Dave Chanda Director
Larry Herrighty* Deputy Director
New York Department of Environmental Conservation Patricia Riexinger Director, Division of Fish, Wildlife and Marine Resources
Pennsylvania Game Commission Matt Hough Executive Director
Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission John Arway* Executive Director
Leroy Young* Director, Bureau of Fisheries
Diana Day Conservation Coordinator
Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management Cathy Sparks Assistant Director for Natural Resources
Bob Ballou* Acting Chief, Div. of Fish & Wildlife

Vermont Department of Fish and Wildlife Kim Royar Director of Operations
Eric Palmer* Director of Fisheries
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries David Whitehurst* Bureau Director, Wildlife Resources
Becky Gwynn Assistant Bureau Director, Bureau of Wildlife Resources

Native American Tribes

The following recognized tribes were invited to participate individually: Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation, Mohegan Tribe of Indians of Connecticut, Aroostook Band of Micmacs, Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, Passamaquoddy Tribe - Indian Township Reservation, Passamaquoddy Tribe - Pleasant Point Reservation, Penobscot Indian Nation, Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head (Aquinnah), Shinnecock Indian Nation, Narragansett Indian Tribe

The United South and Eastern Tribes Natural Resources Committee nominated Greg Soder (Narragansett Indian Tribe) to serve as an official member on the North Atlantic LCC steering committee to represent those USET-membered Tribes that fall within the LCC's geographic boundary regarding activities within the North Atlantic LCC

United South and Eastern Tribes Greg Soder Assistant Director, Planning and Natural Resources, Narragansett Indian Tribe
Sharri Venno Environmental Planner, Houlton Band of the Maliseets

Federal Agencies

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Wendi Weber Northeast Regional Director
Ken Elowe* Assistant Regional Director, Science Applications
Rick Bennett* Regional Scientist
Mike Slattery* Chesapeake Bay Coordinator

U.S. Geological Survey Dave Russ* Regional Executive, Northeast Region
Rachel Muir* Regional Science Advisor, Northeast Region
Pete Murdoch Regional Science Advisor, Northeast Region

Department of the Interior Northeast Climate Science Center Mary Ratnaswamy USGS Director, Northeast Climate Science Center
Rick Palmer* University Director, Northeast Climate Science Center

National Park Service Mary Foley* Regional Chief Scientist, Northeast Region
Amanda Babson Coastal Landscape Adaptation Cooridinator
Diane Pavek* Research and T&E Coordinator, National Capital Region
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation and Enforcement Mike Rasser Marine Ecologist
Bureau of Indian Affairs Vacant
Bureau of Land Management Vacant

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Ellen Mecray Regional Climate Coordinator
Darlene Finch* Coastal Services Center

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Randy Pomponio* Director,  Environmental Assessment & Innovation Division
Bill Jenkins* Director, Office of Environmental Information and Analysis
Ralph Abele* Region I
Jaqueline LeClair* Region I Wetlands
Anne Kuhn Office of Research and Development National Health & Environmental Effects Laboratory
Atlantic Ecology Division

U.S.  Forest Service

Tom Wagner* Supervisor, White Mountain National Forest
Colleen Madrid* Supervisor, Green Mountain National Forest
Roger Simmons Natural Resources Staff Officer
White Mountain National Forest

Canadian Partners

The four provinces in the North Atlantic LCC are Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island.  These provinces are invited to participate in the LCC Steering Committee but have agreed to let the Canadian Wildlife Service represent them initially.

Environment Canada Canadian Wildlife Service Gary Donaldson Director , Atlantic Region
Karel Allard* Landscape Conservation Coordinator
Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies Dean Smith* NAWMP Coordinator, Wildlife Liaison

Non-governmental Organizations

Ducks Unlimited Sarah Fleming Great Lakes Atlantic Region
Manomet Center for Conservation Sciences Eric Walberg Climate Director

National Wildlife Federation Chris Hilke

Program Manager, Climate Adaptation Program, Northeast Regional Office

Curtis Fisher*

Regional Executive Director-Northeast Natural Resource Center

Hector Galbraith*

The Nature Conservancy Lise Hanners* Conservation Director, Eastern Resources Office
Phillip Huffman* Conservation Director, Vermont Chapter
Adam Whelchel* Conservation Director, Vermont Chapter
Kim Lutz* Connecticut River Coordinator
New England Wildflower Society Bill Brumback Conservation Director
Trust for Public Land Jad Daley Director, Climate Conservation Program
Wildlife Management Institute Scot Williamson Vice President
Wildlife Conservation Society Zoe Smith Director, Adirondacks Program

Adjacent LCC's (Ex-Officio members)

Appalachian LCC Cal Dubrock Appalachian LCC Coordinator
Great Lakes LCC John Rogner Great Lakes LCC Coordinator
South Atlantic LCC TBD South Atlantic LCC Coordinator

 *Non-voting members.

Document Actions